Ethics Committee

Upholding Integrity in Medical Advancements

Cancer Institute Image

Have Questions?
We're Here to Help

Feel free to reach out, and let's embark on a journey to better health together.


Establishment and Significance of the
Caritas Hospital Ethics Committee

In 2001, Caritas Hospital established its Ethics Committee, pioneering the concept under the visionary guidance of Dr. Johny Joseph, Head of Caritas Heart Institute. The esteemed Professor Dr. Madhavankutty, former Principal of MCH, Kottayam, and former Director of Medical Education, Kerala, was appointed as the Founding Chairman of the Ethics Committee. In addition, Professor Dr. George Jacob, retired Professor of Cardiology at MCH, Kottayam, served as the Founding Member Secretary.

The primary role of the Ethics Committee is to meticulously review and approve proposals for clinical trials and research studies conducted within Caritas Hospital. The committee's paramount focus is to ensure that these endeavors prioritize patient safety and uphold the institutional standards.

Notably, the prestigious NABH Accreditation serves as a testament to the committee's dedication to enhancing both the quality and capacity of ethical research involving new drugs. Caritas Hospital proudly stands as the second institution in the state and the first in Central Kerala to achieve this esteemed recognition.

This accomplishment reflects the concerted efforts of the hospital's management, past and present ethics committee members, clinical trial physicians, research department, and quality department. Caritas Hospital remains committed to maintaining the highest ethical standards in healthcare and research, driving innovation and patient well-being


The members of Ethics Committee - Caritas Hospital

Dr.N Sudhayakumar

Dr. Manu John
Member Secretary

Dr.Deepthi Madhu
Basic Medical Scientist & Alternate Member Secertary

Adv. Chacko Simon
Legal Expert

Adv.Jessymol Joseph
Legal Expert

Prof.Dr.Johnson Neelanirappel

Rev. Fr. Jinu Kavil

Dr.Sajan thomas

Mr. A.J Chacko
Lay Person

Dr.Jacob Jesurun
Basic Medical Scientist

Prof. Dr.Cinu Thomas
Basic Medical Scientist

Prof.Twinkle Mathew
Basic Medical Scientist